thefeminineheart

To Encourage the feminine heart along lifes journey

NO WAY……CAN’T DO IT !

6 Comments

image
Walk Towards Easter. 5
” When we get to Jerusalem ,” he told them, ” the Son of Man will be betrayed to the leading priests and the teachers of religious law. They will sentence him to die and hand him over to the Romans. They will mock him, spit on him, beat him with their whips, and kill him, but after three days he will rise again.” 
Mark 10:33-34
Q. What do you learn about Jesus’ intentions and what surprises you about His plans?
No way…….can’t do it! I’m fairly certain that would be the initial reaction from the majority if asked to undertake a task that would require public humiliation, excruciating pain and imminent death. The fact that your life would be restored at the conclusion of the preceding events becomes lost in the preoccupation of what must be endured. I cannot imagine the inner turmoil and angst one would experience choosing to accept such a task.
But Jesus said ” Yes…..I’ll do it!” He knew exactly how events were to play out. He knew the path He was about to follow, He understood all that was in store, He knew the suffering that was at hand, and still He said yes. We know that He struggled with the knowledge of what He must go through as He prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane.
Mark 14:33-36 He took Peter, James and John with him, and he began to be filled with horror and deep distress. He told them, ” My soul is crushed with grief to the point of death. Stay with me.” He went a little farther and fell face down on the ground. He prayed that, if it were possible, the awful hour awaiting him might pass him by. ” Abba, Father,” he said, ” everything is possible for you. Please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will, not mine.”
Three times He went away and pleaded with His Father, three times! 
I’m finding it incredibly difficult to wrap my thoughts around this profoundly moving scene. The enormity of what Jesus endured for me is overwhelming. And still amidst all that torment he said, ” Not my will, but yours .” He saw the bigger picture, the prize at the end…….You and I……. His feet were steadfast as He was secure in the knowledge that His Father would carry Him through.
Is there a challenge in your life, something you have been confronted with and you’ve answered, ” No way, can’t do it . ” Are you afraid to face the pain of the process ? It’s okay to be anxious , Jesus has been there and conquered more than we could ever dream of and He is waiting to give you strength and carry you through.
For I can do EVERYTHING with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need. Philippians 4:13
He is waiting and He won’t let you down.
Therefore, we who have fled to Him for refuge can take new courage, for we can hold onto His promise with confidence. This confidence is like a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls…… Hebrews 6:18-19
Lxx

Author: sistainarms

https://thefeminineheart.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “NO WAY……CAN’T DO IT !

  1. What more can I say, beautifully expressed, thank you Lxx

  2. A touching and faith-filled post. I can’t even imagine the emotions and all of the things Jesus felt during that time. No love can compare to how God would love us so much that He would fullfill His will in Jesus in such a way. These are indeed things to remember at all times; especially during the most challenging times in our lives.

    Bina, thank you for your touching comment as well. 🙂

  3. I am always moved to tears when I realize what Jesus (the blameless, sinless son of the Living God) had to become to save me. He had to take on ALL the habits, addictions, tendencies that I do in order to make me His…and He. Did. It.

    He spent that night in the garden heartbroken over all that He was about to deal with…both physically and spiritually…knowing what He would have to BE to hang on that cross for me…and He. Did. It.

    Easter is the one “Christian holiday” that never fails to slam my heart into His heartbeat as I realize that being me isn’t always a pleasing thing to be in the sight of a Holy God…but He. Did. It…because He would rather die for me than live without me.

    Mmmm…what a glorious Lord we serve.

Leave a Reply

