thefeminineheart

To Encourage the feminine heart along lifes journey

BETRAYAL

Leave a comment

imageWalk Towards Easter . 15.
Then Judas Iscariot, one of the twelve disciples, went to the leading priests to arrange to betray Jesus to them. The leading priests were delighted when they heard why he had come, and they promised him a reward. So he began looking for the right time and place to betray Jesus. Mark 14:10-11
Q. For what reward do you betray Jesus ? What motives do you share with Judas ?
I don’t think any of us want to be likened to Judas! He was the one, the one that committed the ultimate betrayal……..for a bag of silver! No…….no, I’m not anything like Judas………Or am I ?
How is it that we could betray Jesus today, let alone have similar motives to Judas. I struggle with the whole concept, as to why Judas did what he did. To be that close in fellowship with Jesus, to sit under His teaching, to witness His compassion, seeing with his own eyes miracle after miracle…….to be in His presence, how could he?
I would never, of this I’m certain! ………….Or am I ?
What if I were to place the praise and acceptance of others above Him, compromising my convictions for the reward of worldly accolades, to chase after and desire approval and standing with man, above Him!
Every day His goodness and mercy is evident in my life, so why is it that I still seek after my own needs, striving for success apart from Him?
Could it be that the same desire which drove Judas to betrayal, is evident in our own lives today, subtly influencing our motives ?
In what form does your big bag of silver manifest itself today ? Self reflection can be a little tough, especially when upon inspection we find unexpected attitude and sin. How wonderful it is that His Grace never leaves us where it finds us, we can turn over our vanities and obsessions to Him.
” Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a right spirit within me. Do not banish me from your presence, and don’t take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation , make me willing to obey.” Psalm 52:10-12
Lxx

Author: sistainarms

https://thefeminineheart.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

